The IRS would like for taxpayers to beware of scammers making unsolicited calls claiming to be IRS officials. They may demand money on the spot, ask for credit card information over the phone, and threaten to bring in local police. The IRS will NEVER call to demand immediate payment over the phone. They will send a tax notice by mail if there are any taxes or penalties due. For more information, please visit the IRS website.
As of April 1, 2016, Louisiana state sales tax has increased to 5% from the previous 4% pursuant to Act 26. This additional state sales tax is levied upon the sale at retail, the use, the consumption, the distribution and the lease or rental of an item of tangible personal property and upon the sale of services. This tax is to be collected by the dealer and wholesaler as provided by Chapter 2 of Title 47 of the Revised Statutes. For more information, please visit the Louisiana Department of Revenue website.
Beginning on Jan. 1, 2016, the standard mileage rates for the use of a vehicle will be:
-54 cents per mile for business miles driven, down from 57.5 cents in 2015
-19 cents per mile driven for medical or moving purposes, down from 23 cents in 2015
-14 cents per mile driven in service of charitable organizations, steady from 2015
For more information, please visit the IRS website.